January 26th 2017
Magnum-PSI facility for extreme materials research
After the successful delivery of Magnum-PSI's new superconducting magnet in October 2016, DIFFER's main research facility to study Plasma Surface Interactions is now being commissioned for its first experimental campaign in its new location.
January 26th 2017
Batteries - Nikolai Pozdeev - Shutterstock
In the NaSTOR project, İlker Doğan is cooperating with the company Exergy Storage to develop a cost-competitive sodium-sulfur battery for residential storage of energy from own solar panels or wind turbines. Storage is crucial for the energy transition to renewables.
January 13th 2017
plasmon-exciton-polariton lasing
By controlling the interplay between light and matter at a nanoscale, researchers from the Dutch Institute of Fundamental Energy Research, Eindhoven University of Technology and Universidad Autonoma of Madrid (Spain) have created a laser which is small and sturdy enough to fit onto a computer chip. The results have great potential for the field of photonics, the science that investigates the generation, propagation and detection of light.
January 13th 2017
plasmon exciton polariton lasing
Door nauwgezette controle over licht en materie op de nanoschaal hebben internationale onderzoekers een laser ontworpen die werkt op de nanoschaal. Het ontwerp is klein en robuust genoeg om uiteindelijk op een computerchip te passen. Dat is een veelbelovende stap richting razendsnel transporteren en bewerken van data in de vorm van licht in plaats van met langzame elektrische stroom.
December 21st 2016
Magnum-PSI kan als enige ter wereld materialen blootstellen aan de intense plasmacondities in toekomstige fusiereactoren.
Het instituut voor funderend energieonderzoek DIFFER start samen met de Technische Universiteiten Eindhoven en Delft, instituten ECN en NRG en industriepartners ASML en Research Instruments een onderzoeksprogramma over materiaalgedrag onder extreme omstandigheden. Hierin onderzoeken de partners de reactie van geavanceerde materialen op blootstelling aan extreme plasma's (heet, geladen gas) in industriële toepassingen. Het onderzoeksprogramma duurt vier jaar en wordt gefinancierd door het Materials Innovation Institute M2i.